Home > Uncategorized > first aid

first aid


I recently took a Standard First Aid course in Ottawa with the RedCross.  The last time I took a first aid course was in Grade 11, I believe.  It has been 13 years since I was last exposed to any life saving techniques.  I also have brief memories of learning CPR, and other techniques when I was taking swimming lessons as a child.

This course really opened up my eyes to how much things have changed over the years.  I had always learned CPR with mouth-to-mouth artificial respiration, and never chest compressions.  I also learned new techniques for victims of choking, heart attack, stroke, etc.  We also learned several techniques for delivering babies.  I am, by no means, capable or qualified as trained medical personnel, but I am confident that I can respond and help while medical personnel arrive.  The stats in Ottawa indicate that an ambulance takes approximately 10 to 15 minutes to arrive, and that can be the difference between life and death.

Since I will be travelling for a prolonged period of time, I decided to take this course.  I have been putting it off for many years, but my month in Ottawa afforded me the opportunity to take the course.

I think that it is important that everyone has a basic knowledge of first aid, as you never know when you will need it.  I took the course through First Aid Ottawa.  http://www.firstaidottawa.com  This is by no means an endorsement, as there are many organisations capable of offering the course.

The course was very good, and included many real life examples, role playing scenarios, and candid questions and stories.  It was two days well spent, and it can mean the difference between helping/saving someone, and standing there helpless.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

