Home > Uncategorized > First haircut in Nicaragua

First haircut in Nicaragua

November 12, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

$1.40 haircut

As part of a field trip with my Spanish teacher today, I went to Masaya.  I had asked the teacher to come with me earlier this week, as I was nervous about getting a haircut without knowing the language. (Note, I will post some pictures when I actually have my home internet working, as I am at an internet cafe at the moment)

This story brought to mind other places in which I have got a haircut around the world.  Whenever you switch barbers, it is quite hit and miss.  (even with hair like mine).  I have received haircuts in the following countries.  (I know this sounds ridiculous):

  • Canada
  • China
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
  • France
  • Belgium
  • Netherlands
  • Scotland
  • Australia
  • Germany
  • South Africa – I was let in through a security door in Cape Town, as it was in a supposedly dangerous area of town
  • Czech Republic – This was back in 2002, when I was travelling around Europe for the first time.  I went with the owner of the hostel, who also was my translator.
  • Nicaragua (see below)

The Nica haircut made me the most nervous.  I am not sure why this was the case, but I was unsure of the result.  I had prepared myself for this moment, by learning certain words for short on the sides, longer on the top.  I had also carried my passport with me so that I could show the ¨hairdresser¨.

I failed to see the warning signs before getting the haircut:

  • getting a price of less than 1.40 USD for the haircut (30 Nicaraguan Cordobas)
  • 2 minutes into the haircut, the hairdresser asked me to see the picture again, then laughing
  • the hairdresser boiling water as there was no running water in the barber shop
  • the fact that the hairdresser was bald

For those of you who have never received a haircut in Nicarauga, let me recount the steps:

  • I sit down in the barber chair
  • I am covered with a drape to keep hair off of my clothes
  • I am covered all over the face and neck with baby powder
  • The hairdress starts cutting my hair
  • Above takes 30 minutes, even though I could cut my own hair with a flowBee without looking in 5 minutes
  • I look in horror in the mirror, as all of the hair on my head is the same length
  • I realise that I look like I am 12 years old.
  • The hairdresser begins to meticulously shave my next and around my ears with a razor
  • I am covered again in baby powder
  • The babrder plugs in a light, as it is too dark
  • My hair is doused in gel

40 mintes later, I have a brand new haircut

Several lessons to be learned:

  • Learn the language properly before getting your haircut – enough that you can think on your feet to provide continuous feedback
  • Hair grows back

Pictures to follow

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Christian haynes
    November 22, 2010 at 23:10

    I love the cut, it is so you!

    • jon
      November 26, 2010 at 11:03

      it has been two weeks, i am started to look more and more like an adult

  2. EvilTwinofTam
    November 21, 2010 at 17:48

    You should get dreadlocks man. Cool running down south!

    • jon
      November 26, 2010 at 11:04

      thanks, who are you? 🙂

  3. Saskia
    November 18, 2010 at 18:34

    or is it just gonna be just the one photo?

    • jon
      November 20, 2010 at 14:29

      only took the one, forgot the camera when getting the actual haircut

  4. Saskia
    November 18, 2010 at 18:32

    So where are these amazing haircut photos eh?
    Keep up the great blogs Jon, very entertaining, inspiring and an overall great read 🙂
    X

  5. Maurice
    November 18, 2010 at 01:34

    Well, I wouldn’t go for a tatoo that way, at least the baby powder could help on _that_. What is it for on a haircut (you know, I have limited experience on those …)? Or was it something personal, especially for you ;-)?

    • jon
      November 20, 2010 at 14:30

      i am blessed with hair

  6. Stephanie
    November 17, 2010 at 04:11

    I think I actually like it!!! It might actually make you look older, not younger, because you look like you’re in the military, rather than a video game arcade as suggested by your previous hairstyle.

    • jon
      November 20, 2010 at 14:30

      thanks for the backhanded compliment, i think

  7. Caspar
    November 17, 2010 at 03:46

    Doesn’t matter. Ugly as ever 🙂

    • jon
      November 20, 2010 at 14:30

      thanks for the vote of confidence

  8. Jorge
    November 16, 2010 at 19:27

    Nice haircut though, mine is the opposite, short on the top and longer on the sides :S

    • jon
      November 16, 2010 at 19:34

      haha, how close do you live to the Nica/Tica border? are you on the east or west coast? i might need to pop down end of jan to extend my visa

  9. Stephanie
    November 16, 2010 at 06:51

    Hilarious! Pleeease post pictures soon before it grows too much…I eagerly await!!

    • jon
      November 16, 2010 at 19:24

      picture up haha

  10. Veronika
    November 13, 2010 at 10:52

    hahahahaaaa… so funny!!! Getting a haircut in Nicaragua sounds like a lot of fun! I’m already looking forward to your receiving a second one;)
    Btw. it’s not always about the price.. I got one of my best haircuts in China for 10 yuan:)
    And btw – I love the list of countries where you had your hair cut!:DDD So half of the world has been already covered with your special hair, haha

    • jon
      November 16, 2010 at 19:24

      i could not tell him quick enough with my limited language skills not too short on top. oh well, it grows back

  1. November 13, 2010 at 18:32

Leave a Reply

