Home > Nicaragua > I have no idea where I live…

I have no idea where I live…

November 24, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I recently moved into a flat near Metro Centro.  Managua is a different sort of city.  It does not really have an old centre of the city, as most Nicaraguan towns have.  An earthquake hit Managua in the 70’s and everything became shuffled.  It is now hip to live near restaurants and malls. The big mall I live near is Metro Centro.  Being in the centre, it basically means this is where a lot of the roads start.  It is also a landmark for many people.

my house

My House. The kitchen

I am glad I live near a landmark, as I would have no idea how to get home otherwise.  My official address is:

Shell plaza el sol, 1c. arriba, 2c. sur, 1/2c. abajo.

This means that they are using a gas station as a reference point.  I have never heard of a gas station being a reference point in an official address before in my life.  I guess things are just done differently here. 

Basically I live 1 block from the gas station east, 2 blocks south, and one half blocks west.  I don;t know about you, but most people do not need to be trained in orienteering, or carrying a compas to find their house.  It was a nightmare finding it the first time, as there were many Shell Stations in the vicinity.

The address of the other house I was looking at was even worse, they used a church as a reference point, and said it was near where the Pirate Radio Station used to be…

Things are going well in my new place.  I am in quite an international house, living with people from Nicaragua, France, Germany, and Italy.  Everyone is nice, and it is quite social.

I have just set up my mosquito net in my room.  I feel like I am sleeping in a princess bed. 

This Friday, I am off to Matagalpa to do some work for SchoolBOX.  I am really looking forward to this, and will post some pictures later on.

For some more insight into the Nicaragua Address System, check out this link: http://vianica.com/nicaragua/14-addresses.html

Categories: Nicaragua
  1. Stephanie
    November 25, 2010 at 04:05

    Finally you get to fulfill your princess fantasies! I love it that the address uses the Shell station as a reference point, but there are several Shell stations…haha

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

