Home > Nicaragua > 1 Year in Nicaragua

1 Year in Nicaragua


I am back in Canada again for a short stint.  Today is my first year anniversary on arrival into Nicaragua, and ironically I am spending it in Canada.  Since November I have learned a lot as a person, and seen many things that were very difficult.  I realise that I am a lucky person, and I know that there is much work to do to accomplish what I strive towards in Nicaragua.

I got sick when I arrived back in Canada a few weeks ago.  My body simply shut down and became sick after stopping and getting some prolonged rest.  I was sick for just under two weeks, and had lots of time to think about things.  Everything about Canada is different when compared to Nicaragua.  I realise that we have it quite good in Canada.

Some differences that are quite profound between Canada and Managua are as follows:

  • No need to constantly look down while walking.  It is uncommon to find holes in the streets, or sidewalks, or protruding pieces of metal, garbage, etc.
  • The amount of sidewalks in Canada – you don’t notice them until you have to do without them.
  • The beautiful parks we have – not so many nice parks in Managua, and the majority are littered in garbage and dangerous at times.
  • The ability to walk around at night – In Managua, it is not always wise, or safe to walk around at night.  Trusted taxis or rides from friends are preferred ways to move around.
  • The vast amounts of recreation available to the masses – In Managua, we have a few choices of fun things to do – seeing a movie, eating out, drinking a beer, going to the gym, and going to swim…..that is about it.
  • Availability of good cheese, meats, breads, etc.
  • Availability and variety of restaurants – there are handfulls of good restaurants in Managua – but the ethnic food (Chinese, Indian, Greek, Thai, etc.) is sorely lacking
  • Multiculturalism – the vast majority of foreigners in Nicaragua just there to work, or volunteer.  There is not much diversity in the ethnicity of people living in Nicaragua – In Canada that is never a problem.
  • The weather – it is crisp and cool outside now in Canada – I miss 4 seasons.

These are by no means a knock on Nicaragua, but sometimes it is good to get a break, and get back to Canada in order to appreciate what I never appreciated before.  A few trips to Canada a year, can refresh and renew my outlook on life, and get me ready to contribute more effectively in my endeavours with SchoolBOX.

 

Categories: Nicaragua
  1. August 26, 2012 at 11:07

    Hi friends, how is all, and what you wish for to say regarding this piece of writing, in my view its actually awesome designed for me.

  2. Henk Uphoff
    November 7, 2011 at 02:15

    Hi Jon, Great to read something from you again. Wise words from you. I hope a lot of people appreciate your look on our wealth. Sorry I missed you last Friday, but my son was born just over a week ago and need all the help at home the last 2 weeks.

  3. Nicole
    November 2, 2011 at 20:54

    Happy anniversary Jon! I hope you are proud of what you have managed to accomplish this past year – we certainly are!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

